Camille Pascal

About

Born into a non-musician family, Camille Pascal inherited her father’s eclectic and inclusive musical tastes and her mother’s attraction to world music and polyphony.

An intellectual at heart and an artist at soul, her path reflects this dual unity, where it is not enough for her to understand the signifier, but where it is as important to embody the signified in all its forms. A cycle at the conservatory in opera singing, a dissertation on John Dewey’s philosophy of education, another on the philosophy of emotions, a discovery of modern jazz dance, poems on loose sheets, three years of research at UCLouvain on ethics of migration, a fervent practice of Vinyasa and Ashtanga yoga, five years teaching philosophy at university, an exploration of the body and movement in Axis Syllabus and Taoist Bioenergetics, training as a facilitator in Collective Intelligence, a course in Non-Violent Communication, a year of vocal technique before falling into vocal improvisation and body music in 2013 and plunging headlong into it. Camille has become a driving force in this field at both French and international level.

Camille develops a pragmatic, playful and artistic approach to vocal improvisation and body music. Since 2015, she has been creating learning tools and systems for singers of all levels, which she shares in circlesong, collective improvisation and presence exploration workshops. Her teaching takes shape around her passion for how learning works, and she uses visual, kinaesthetic and auditory tools. An eternal learner, she continues to train to broaden her range of skills (clowning, vocal technique, contact dance, body percussion, etc.). She was a member of the Spirale Voice collective of teachers (now disbanded) and publicly shares her tools on the collaborative “Ressources en Improvisation Vocale” website. Since 2019, she has been running Immersion Circlesong, a 1-year circlesong training course which she offers in France and Belgium and which is helping to create a new generation of facilitators and teachers.

Camille’s pedagogical friendships: Allan Wright and Florent Isoard (TCM), Véronique Gaspard (CNV), Gaël Aubrit (vocal improvisation), John Dewey and cognitive sciences (pedagogy), Música do Círculo (facilitation)…

Camille explores improvisation in three forms – voice, movement and words – passionate about the relationships that can be woven between these elements in the service of free and authentic individual and collective expression. She was choirmaster of the “Lycée du Parc choir”, performed in the children’s musical “Pantin Pantine”, and was a member of the improvised vocal group “Big Bang Choir”. As part of her solo project DRIÄD, she released the album Good Moʊd, a series of polyphonic songs written to immerse oneself in the world of improvisation with musical modes. She is currently working on a triptych at the crossroads of song, poetry and storytelling that will play with the plasticity of the voice and the body and the creation of emotions.

Camille’s artistic influences: Bobby McFerrin (vocal improvisation), Éric Blouet (clown), Camille (singer), Joeffrey Secco (jazz-hypnosis), Léïla Martial (vocalist), video games music…

Camille is very committed to structuring and expanding vocal improvisation and body music In 2017, she launched the “Chant pour Tous / Bruxelles” community, which now has hundreds of enthusiasts. She administers the “Circlesongs, impro vocale et chant spontané / France” and “Circle Singing and Vocal Improvisation / Belgium” vocal and body improvisation information-sharing groups, which link thousands of collaborators. She is a founding member of the international vocal improvisation network The Well. In 2020, she founded Le Cercle Enchanté/The Enchanted Circle, an association that promotes vocal improvisation and body music in France and abroad, creating links between teachers, artists and participants, and partnerships with official cultural structures. Camille is the artistic director of the Enchanted Circle retreat and festival.

Photo credit (top to bottom): Pixilie, Céline Jean, Olumedia/Ukvocalimprov , Pixilie, Kiko Medici

Camille Pascal

Parcours

Issue d’une famille non-musicienne, Camille Pascal a hérité des goûts musicaux éclectiques et inclusifs de son père et de l’attrait enjoué de sa mère pour les chants du monde et les polyphonies.

Intellectuelle dans l’âme, artiste dans le cœur, son parcours reflète cette unité duelle où il ne lui suffit pas de comprendre le signifiant mais où il est aussi question d’incarner le signifié sous toutes ses formes. Un chemin au Conservatoire de Musique en chant lyrique, un mémoire sur la philosophie de l’éducation de John Dewey, un autre sur la philosophie des émotions, une étape en danse moderne jazz, des poèmes sur des feuilles volantes, trois années de recherche à l’UCLouvain sur l’éthique de la migration, une pratique férue de Yoga Vinyasa et Ashtanga, cinq années d’enseignement de la philosophie à l’université, une exploration du corps et du mouvement en Axis Syllabus et en Bioénergie Taoïste, une formation de facilitateur·ice en Intelligence Collective, un itinéraire en Communication NonViolente, une année de technique vocale avant de découvrir en 2013 l’improvisation vocale et corporelle et d’y plonger à corps perdu. Camille en est devenue une figure motrice à l’échelle française et internationale.

 

·Camille développe une pédagogie pragmatique, ludique et artistique de l’improvisation vocale et corporelle. Elle crée depuis 2015 des outils et des systèmes d’apprentissage à l’intention de chanteur·euse·s de tous niveaux qu’elle partage dans des stages de circlesong, de co-improvisation et d’exploration de la présence. Sa transmission met en forme sa passion pour le fonctionnement de l’apprentissage, elle décline ses outils sous forme visuelle, kinesthésique et auditive. Éternelle apprenante, elle continue de se former pour élargir sa palette de compétences (clown, technique vocale, danse contact, percussions corporelles…). Elle a fait partie du collectif de pédagogues Spirale Voice (aujourd’hui dissout) et partage publiquement ses outils sur le site collaboratif Ressources en Improvisation Vocale. Depuis 2019, elle dirige Immersion Circlesong, une formation longue à la circlesong qu’elle propose en France et en Belgique et qui contribue à faire naître une nouvelle génération de facilitateur·ice·s et formateur·ice·s.

Les amitiés pédagogiques de Camille : Allan Wright et Florent Isoard (TCM), Véronique Gaspard (CNV), Gaël Aubrit (impro vocale), John Dewey et sciences cognitives (pédagogie), Música do Círculo (facilitation)…

Camille explore l’improvisation sous trois formes – la voix, le mouvement et les mots – passionnée de la relation que peuvent tisser ses éléments au service d’une expression individuelle et collective libre et authentique. Elle a été cheffe de choeur de la Chorale du Lycée du Parc, s’est produite dans la comédie musicale pour enfant Pantin Pantine, et a fait partie du groupe vocal improvisé Big Bang Choir. Dans le cadre de son projet solo DRIÄD, elle a sorti l’album Good Moʊd, une série de chants polyphoniques écrits pour s’immerger dans le monde de l’improvisation avec les modes musicaux. Elle travaille actuellement sur un triptyque au carrefour de la chanson, de la poésie, et du conte qui jouera avec la plasticité de la voix et du corps et la création des émotions.

Les influences artistiques de Camille : Bobby McFerrin (impro vocale), Éric Blouet (clown), Camille (chanteuse),  Joeffrey Secco (jazz-hypnose), Léïla Martial (vocaliste), musiques de jeux vidéos…

 

Camille est très investie dans la structuration et le déploiement de l’improvisation vocale et corporelle. Elle a initié en 2017 la communauté « Chant pour Tous / Bruxelles » qui regroupe aujourd’hui des centaines d’adeptes. Elle administre les groupes de partage d’information sur l’improvisation vocale et corporelle « Circlesongs, impro vocale et chant spontané / France » et « Circle Singing and Vocal Improvisation / Belgium » qui mettent en lien des milliers de collaborateurs. Elle est membre fondateur du réseau international d’improvisation vocale The Well. Elle a fondé en 2020 Le Cercle Enchanté, une association qui promeut l’improvisation vocale et corporelle en France et avec l’étranger, qui crée du lien entre pédagogues, artistes et participant·e·s, et des partenariats avec les structures culturelles officielles. Camille est la directrice artistique de la retraite et du festival du Cercle Enchanté.

 

Crédit photo de haut en bas : Pixilie, Céline Jean, Olumedia/Ukvocalimprov , Pixilie, Kiko Medici